First Flip of 2017 “The Tracy House”

front-from-west

It’s the Tracy House, because its on Tracy Street, not named for my sister.  This one was pretty straight forward, but I did learn a few things, its my 19th Flip house, and I seem to learn a little on every one, this time it was more about efficiency than construction, more on that later.

kitchen

In our market people dont tend to spend more for high end finishes, especially in town, so we did a basic kitchen makeover, new countertops, sink and faucet, appliances, light fixtures, and flooring, this floor was a little different than my usual, its a lock together like laminate, but its a vinyl product, it seems quite tough, and was on sale for $2.19/sq ft i think it came out well.

dining

livingroom

Several rooms like the living room here just needed a cleaning paint and a light fixture.

bath-up

the bathroom is plain, but clean, i would have liked to bling it out, but if i spent $3K on the bath, I wouldn’t get it back, so we painted the cabinets, replaced some shower parts, ran new base and case, and called it a day.

rec-room

Where this house shines it the basement, a huge rec room,

bar-area

with a wet bar and entertaining area,

basement-officebasement-bath

a den and an amazing new bathroom with a 44″ shower.

While the project was straight forward, it was going to be a time consuming effort, Got my Drywall guy Dennis owner of Rappenecker Drywall  going on the bathroom, my Painter Liz working on the colors, and i was working on the rest. Luckily for me my handyman/carpenter Bob owner of Otter Rapids Construction pointed out to me we were going into a cold spell, below zero for a week and asked if I had inside work, and I thought, well this will go faster with a great all around handy guy, so we kicked it hard!  what would have taken me 6-8 weeks we knocked out in 2.5 weeks, and it looks better than i could have hoped for!!!

So my lesson was don’t try to do everything yourself, a few dollars will speed your result, now I can move to a furnace in a future rental, flip #20 (the Willow House), and getting ready for March 15th when Corporate Taxes are Due.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

